196 replies to this topic

#1 Jason Chapman

Jason Chapman

Godess

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,103 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 03:08 PM

Okay I pulled into the petrol station at 5:30am this morning. The tank had between empty and a quarter already in it. After putting £25 in the tank the needle just about made it to three quarters full, I drive a little Fiesta for JHC sake. It’ll cost between £30 - £35 to fill my car now, which means in a space of less than eight years petrol prices have doubled. Back when I was a student in Bradford it would cost me £15 to fill my 1400cc Ford Orion, that was in 2001 – 2002.

It seems down our way, petrol is going up week by week now. It used to be so a price would stick for a few months before going up. But now every time I pull into the petrol station it seems a penny or two is added on. I predict if this continues then by the end of 2009 you will be looking at £2 a litre in some parts of the country.

It’s not just fuel, food prices are being hiked up, I’m considering getting a bread maker, and stealing some of my Father’s garden off him so I can grow my own veg and stuff.

Since the credit crunch is forever in the news now, perhaps the moderators on this site would consider giving it its own section like China and the likes at the top of the news and current affairs forum.

How much is petrol a litre where you live, its £1.06.9 down here in sunny south wales

#2 Scorpio

Scorpio

• Best UK Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,711 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 03:57 PM

I just checked mine on petrolprices.com for unleaded

The Highest price in this area: 110.9p
The Average price in this area: 109.6p
The Lowest price in this area: 108.9p

Costs me £40 a week and i cant afford much more.

Also JC, i've changed the topic title slightly and pinned the thread so its always at the top, as you suggested as its a good idea :guitar:

#3 Harlequin

Harlequin

The Fallen One

• Best UK Moderators